Information on individual team tryouts for the 2020 season will be posted here as it becomes available.
Click here for a directory of clubs and their contact information.

Players must be at least 18 years old to play in the Frontier League.
For the 2020 season, players must have been born on or after October 1, 1993 to be eligible.
Click here to view our of our player classification and eligibility requirements.

The Frontier League is proud to have the extended our agreement with the California Winter League and to make the CWL the Exclusive Winter League of the Frontier League for the 2019 and 2020 seasons. Frontier League managers and coaches will be instructors in the California Winter League and sign a minimum of 24 players each season to spring training contracts. Over 50 players from the 2015 California Winter League signed with Frontier League clubs, including All-Star Game MVP Michael Hur (Rockford Aviators), Home Run Derby champion Reggie Lawson (Traverse City Beach Bums), and Rookie of the Year Brandon Tierney (Frontier Greys).

Another 48 players from the 2016 California Winter League season signed with Frontier League teams, including Post-Season All-Star Catcher Mike Jurgella (River City Rascals), runner-up for Rookie of the Year Luke Barker (Traverse City Beach Bums), and Ken Frosch of the league champion Evansville Otters. In addition, Matt Pobereyko went from the CWL to the Florence Freedom before being signed by the Arizona Diamondbacks while Luke Barker was signed by the Milwaukee Brewers following the 2016 season.  Another 2016 CWL player, Jameson McGrane, had his contract purchased by the Miami Marlins from the Florence Freedom.

Among the 42 CWL players signed by the Frontier League for 2017 are Frontier League Rookie of the Year Kyano Cummings (Evansville Otters) and outfielder Daniel Hoy (Schaumburg Boomers), who then signed with the New York Mets.  The 2017 Frontier League playoffs featured eight California Winter League alumni.  Three of the four playoff teams were led by CWL instructors.  In addition, Matt Pobereyko and Mickey Jannis went from the CWL to the Frontier League to affiliated baseball and both have been invited to the 2017 Arizona Fall League for MLB top prospects.

The 2018 California Winter League season led to an additional 34 players signed thus far, with more expected as the Frontier League season progresses.  Jack Landwehr (Normal CornBelters) and Jacob Wark (Florence Freedom) were selected to the All-Star team, with Landwehr finishing as runner-up for the Rookie of the Year award.  Trevor Achenbach (River City Rascals) was honored as a Player of the Week.

For more information, or to register for the California Winter League, please visit


Tryout Date(s) Time Fee


Evansville Otters
Joliet Slammers
(more information)
Friday, November 15, 2019 8:30 AM position players
11:30 AM pitchers
(registration link)
Salt River Fields at Talking Stick
7555 North Pima Road
Scottsdale, AZ 85258
California Winter League


Frontier League Transactions